Helen Macmillan Brown Bursary



Regulations

This bursary supports female students at the University of Canterbury.

- 1. The bursary is to a value specified in Note 1.
- 2. Up to ten bursaries are available annually to female students.
- 3. Applicants must have applied to enrol, or be intending to apply to enrol, part-time or full-time, at the University of Canterbury in the year following the year of application.
- 4. Recipients, during tenure of the bursary, must be residents of a hall or village that the University recognises as being affiliated with the University.²
- 5. The bursary is tenable for one year.
- 6. The bursary is awarded by the Council of the University, on the recommendation of the Vice-Chancellor (or nominee).
- 7. In making the recommendation, Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) will consider academic achievement. In distinguishing between candidates of equal academic merit, financial need will be taken into account.
- 8. Applications must be made online at the Scholarships website,³ by15 August. Applications from current and past recipients of the bursary will be accepted.
- 9. If, in any year, there are fewer candidates of sufficient merit than there are awards available, fewer awards will be made.
- 10. Unless otherwise specified in the offer letter, an offer of a bursary will lapse if it is not accepted, in writing, within one calendar month of the date of the offer.
- 11. A bursary may be held with any other award unless the conditions of the other award preclude this.
- The bursary will be paid in three instalments by direct credit to the recipient's nominated New Zealand bank account. The first payment will be made as soon as practicable after confirmation of a recipient's (1) enrolment at the University, and (2) residence at a recognised
 - 15. Continuation of the bursary is conditional on satisfactory academic progress and ad University's statutes and regulations.

² See http://www.canterbury.ac.nz/future- students/accommodation/halls -of-residence- and- villages/ for the current list of recognised halls and villages.